Jun 16, 2024  
2023-2024 Catalog 
2023-2024 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

General Information


BridgeValley Community and Technical College will be the college of opportunity for a diverse learner population, offering leading-edge technology, innovative ideas, and dynamic service to our students and our communities


BridgeValley Community and Technical College promotes student success, prepares a skilled workforce, and builds tomorrow’s leaders by providing access to quality education.

Institutional Values

Faculty, staff, and administrators share a common set of values that guides the College in fulfilling its mission. These values influence our actions, guide our decision, mold our policies, and determine our strategic planning.

  1. Excellence in Education. We are dedicated to excellence in education by providing a highly competent, innovative, and supportive faculty and staff; facilities equipped with current technology; quality academic and occupational programs; and integrity and high standards in teaching, learning, and service.
  2. Achievement and Accessibility. We are committed to access and affordability of higher education for all students and the delivery of education and support services that will enable students to achieve their individual educational goals in course, skill set, or program completion.
  3. Respect for Diversity. We value intellectual and cultural diversity. We believe that all individuals should have an opportunity to learn and succeed in the classroom, in the workplace, and in the community and encourage a diverse student body through open admission and delivery of educational services that support student success.
  4. Accountability. We are committed to efficient and effective management of human and financial resources that will maintain public trust and ensure a fiscally responsible, sustainable environment for the institution.
  5. Quality of Work Environment. We value each member of our community; promote free, open and responsible exchange of ideas; foster respect, trust, and support among faculty, staff, and students through shared governance; encourage ethical risk-taking and innovation; recognize exceptional performance and contributions made to our dynamic learning environment.
  6. Contribution to Community and Economic Development. We are committed to serving the academic, occupational, and enrichment needs of our communities; enhancing quality of life; and supporting economic development through effective business and industry partnerships and collaborations.
  7. Commitment to the Future. We are dedicated to continuous evaluation of the institution in order to address the needs of the present and the challenges of the future.


Goal One: Student Success

  • Prepare students to be successful by providing them with the education and experiences that will help them enter employment in a high-wage, high-skill occupation and by preparing them for life-long learning.

Goal Two: Institutional Success and Sustainability

  • Focus on sustainable growth and responsible use of college resources to best support students and our community.

Goal Three: Community and Industry Success

  • Maintain awareness of industry and community needs and focus resources and programs that best align to the needs of our community.


BridgeValley Community and Technical College was formed in 2014 with the merger of Bridgemont and Kanawha Valley Community and Technical Colleges. BridgeValley is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. The service region for the multi-campus institution that includes Fayette, Kanawha, Clay, and Putnam counties.

BridgeValley evolved in response to the educational and economic development needs for the State of West Virginia. Associate-level degree programs began in the late 1940s and early 1950s at West Virginia State College and West Virginia Institute of Technology. In the 1960s, each of these colleges created “community college components” on the respective campuses. In 1999, the state legislature created a separate community and technical college system. Community college components hosted by baccalaureate institutions began the process of becoming independent colleges. In 2004, independent accreditation was achieved and the Community and Technical College at West Virginia University Institute of Technology and West Virginia State Community and Technical College were formed.

The new community colleges were asked to change names in 2009 to emphasize their mission and create distinction from the baccalaureate colleges. The Community and Technical College at WVU Tech became Bridgemont Community and Technical College; West Virginia State Community and Technical College became Kanawha Valley Community and Technical College. 

During the 2013 legislative session, Senate Bill 438 was passed to consolidate Bridgemont and Kanawha Valley to form a stronger, more comprehensive multi-campus institution for the region. A Board of Governors was appointed to oversee the consolidation; the name BridgeValley was selected to represent the fusion of the institutions.

The official founding date of BridgeValley, March 20, 2014, signifies the completion of all accreditation requirements for the college and the beginning of a new era in community and technical college education for the region.


BridgeValley Community and Technical College is located in South Charleston, WV and has a branch campus in Montgomery, WV. The two campuses are 34 miles apart, both situated near the Kanawha River in the rugged Allegheny Mountains. This diverse service area includes the New River Gorge National Park reserve near Fayetteville, the state Capitol complex in Charleston, and the chemical, energy, and manufacturing center for the southern part of the state.

The South Charleston facilities are located on the campus of the West Virginia Regional Technology Park, a mixed-use research and industry property. The college buildings include Building 2000, the Advanced Technology Center for South Central West Virginia, and Building 704.

The Montgomery campus consists of Davis Hall, located at 619 2nd Avenue, the Diesel Technology building, and the Workforce building. 

Access to both campuses is provided through Interstate Routes 64, 77, and 79, U.S. Route 60, Charleston Yeager Airport, and the Beckley/Raleigh County Airport. Bus service is available through Charleston and Beckley, as well as more distant points. The Kanawha Rapid Transit (KRT) provides convenient schedules between Montgomery, Charleston, and other towns in the Kanawha Valley.